Comedy for Spain wins best film and best actress in successful Monte-Carlo festival

Awards ceremony in the presence of movie celebrities

The 12th edition of the one-of-a-kind Monte-Carlo Film Festival of Comedy, organised under the patronage of HSH Prince Albert II and the Italian Embassy of Monaco, closed on Saturday, February 28, 2015. The press conference announcing the winners took place in the magnificent Salle Empire of the Hotel de Paris during the day, and was followed in the evening by the Awards Ceremony at the Auditorium Rainier III, hosted by its founder and president Ezio Greggio accompanied by beautiful Italian model and TV presenter Costanza Caracciolo. It culminated with a festive Gala Dinner at the recently inaugurated state-of-the-art Yacht Club of Monaco, animated by Giovanni Caccamo, talented Italian singer and winner of the “San Remo Musical Festival 2015” for young artists.

An exceptional jury

The award winners were selected by an exceptional jury presided by Giovanni Veronesi, a composed by Claude Zidi, Maria Grazia Cucinotta, Yllka Mujo, Lee Marshal and Lina Wertmüller as Honorary President of the Artistic Committee.

And the winners are…

The award for Best Film went to the film from Spain “Carmina y Amen” by Paco Leon from, and delivered by HE Antonio Morabito, Ambasador of Italy in France and Monaco. As the story goes, a 50-year-old woman tries to hide that her husband is dead to be able to obtain his pension. It is a rather unusual but amusing story about resilience and the joy of life. And to top it all, the Best Actress award was given to the incredible Carmina Barrios, main protagonist of “Carmina y Amen”.

12th Festival of Comedy of Monte Carlo

Peter Chelsom and Ezio Greggio

The prize for Best Director was awarded to Peter Chelsom for his film “Hector and the Search for Happiness”, a pleasant portrait of a psychoanalyst living in London, who leaves his rather quiet and almost boring life, to embark in an venturous trip that takes him to Shanghai and Africa, up to Los Angeles looking for the recipe for joy and satisfaction.

Hector Noguera and Nestor Guzzini, wonderful protagonists of “Mr Kaplan” of Alvaro Brechner, were awarded the prize for Best Actors. It tells the story of Jacob Kaplan, who enjoys a quiet life after fleeing Europe for Uruguay during WWII. Now 76, he begins to question his worth. After learning of a mysterious German prowling the shores of a nearby beach, he becomes convinced that he’s found a Nazi in hiding and plans to expose him. Mr. Kaplan is a vivacious meditation on family, aging, and the drive to find a sense to life.

The famous and ultimate two-times Bond girl, Swiss actress Ursula Andress received an award for the Most Fascinating Actress, from the hands of celebrated Italian journalist and TV host Alfonso Signorini.

Watch the trailer of the Bond movie Dr No where Ursula Andress became famous when appeared wearing a revealing bikini on the beach scene alongside Sean Connery.

The special jury prize for photography was awarded to Darko Lungulov, director of “Monument to Michael Jackson”, a film that combines satire with the typical humor from the Balkans. In this movie, Marko, who is the main protagonist, hopes that building a monument to Michel Jackson will help revive his Serbian village and the relationship with his estranged wife.

A host of movie celebrities honored the festival with their presence, and received special awards for the ensemble of their professional careers from colleagues and other distinguished guests that came specially for this ocassion.

Valeria Solarino – Prize delivered by Lee Marshal

Josee Dayan – Prize delivered by Paolo Genovese

Serena Autieri – Prize delivered by Lorenzo Frateschi, CEO of Radio Monte-Carlo, and Flavio Briatore

Yllka Mujo – Prize delivered by Mirela Kumbaro Furkhui, Minister of Culture of Albany

Franco Nero – Prize delivered by Dario Ballantini (imitator of Prime Minister Matteo Renzi)

Maria Grazia Cucinotta – Prize delivered by journalist Gabriele Parpiglia

Philippe Leroy – Receiving the prize from director Giovanni Veronesi

Gabriele Salvatores – Received the prize from Sebastiano Lombardi, Director of TV Mediaset, Retequattro

Peter Bogdanovich – Prize delivered by Markus Duffner and Sergio Rios Perez who were in charge of selecting the films in competition.

Robert Hossein – Receiving the prize from Claude Zidi, member of the Jury

Giancarlo Giannini – Prize delivered by HE Jacques Boisson, State Secretary of the Principality of Monaco

Mission accomplished for Ezio Greggio 

Ezio Greggio @CelinaLafuenteDeLavothaEzio Greggio was very happy to report that this unique festival succeeded in creating awareness about the importance of comedy, therefore, movies of this genre are finding the place they deserve in other international competitions. Film screenings this year were sold out everyday confirming once again the popularity of the festival, enhanced by the presence at the festival of international movie stars.

The organisers of the Monte-Carlo Film Festival of Comedy extend their heartfelt thanks to the sponsors for their continuous loyalty and generosity, as they highly contribute to the success of this magnificent event that grows in popularity each year. Ezio Greggio is already working on the 2016 edition that promises to be better and even funnier!

Sponsors of the Monte-Carlo Film Festival of Comedy 2015

“There is nothing in the world so irresistibly contagious as laughter and good humor” – Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol










Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.