Lucas di Grassi coming home to Monaco as leader of Formula E series

Fourth podium for Di Grassi puts him back No. 1

Lucas di Grassi from the Audi Sport ABT Sportsline team regained the FIA Formula E championship lead after finishing third in the race in Long Beach (California), coming just behind countryman Nelson Piquet Jr. on his first win for China Racing, and Frenchmen Jean-Eric Vergne of Andretti Autosport. The Brazilian born Monaco resident has reached the pulpit four times in six races and Hans-Jurgen Abt, the ABT Team principal must be rejoicing himself. “It’s fantastic to be on the podium again!” said di Grassi. And he added: “A wonderful feeling to travel to my home race in Monaco as a leader. The fans can look forward to an exciting second half of the season.” 

Di Grassi was the fastest driver in the final practice session, surpassing his previous best time, to line up in a comfortable fourth pole position for the race. He conceded two places when he was pushed outside of the chicane at the start of the race, battled hard and overtook Scott Speed and Nicolas Prost to get back to the top spots. More than 23,000 spectators flocked to watch the competition as the interest for the silent race grows. Among them was film star Leonardo DiCaprio who together with Gildo Pallanca Pastor are the new Venturi Formula E team based in Monaco. His teammate 22 year-old Daniel Abt, the son of Hans-Jurgen Abt, had made the headlines after becoming the first German in Formula E to be on pole position. Unfortunately, during the race he was penalized with a drive-through penalty after briefly using more than the maximum 150 kilowatts allowed.

“The race in Long Beach was one of the highlights of the season so far. It was fantastic to see so many enthusiastic fans in front of our garage and in the grandstands,” said Hans-Jurgen Abt

Long Beach e-Prix top-10 (results):

  1. Nelson Piquet Jr. (China Racing) – 39 laps
  2. Jean-Eric Vergne (Andretti Autosport) – 1s7
  3. LUCAS DI GRASSI (Audi Sport Abt) – 3s0
  4. Sébastien Buemi (e.Dams) – 3s5
  5. Bruno Senna (Mahindra Racing) – 8s8
  6. Jérôme D’Ambrosio (Dragon Racing) – 13s5
  7. Antonio Félix da Costa (Amlin Aguri) – 16s2
  8. Jaime Alguersuari (Virgin Racing) – 18s0
  9. Loïc Duval (Dragon Racing) – 18s4
  10. Stéphane Sarrazin (Venturi) – 20s4

Championship standings (top-5 after 6 of 11 rounds)

  1. LUCAS DI GRASSI, 75 points
  2. Nelson Piquet Jr, 74
  3. Nicolas Prost, 69
  4. Sébastien Buemi, 55
  5. Sam Bird, 52

Next stop Monte-Carlo

The next stop of the 100% electric cars competition will be in the streets of Monte-Carlo, Monaco, for their 7th race on Saturday, May 9, a couple of weeks before the Grand Prix Formula 1. The Monegasque track is similar to that of Long Beach as it is also fast and smooth. The 12-turn, 2.76km circuit is a shortened version of track used by the Formula 1 traditional racing.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.